I Lived Fully

Living Life to the Full

Dear Optimist, Pessimist, and Realist

2 Comments

A quote that I’ve been thinking about lately has been “Dear Optimist, Pessimist, and Realist. While you guys were busy arguing over the glass of water, I drank it. Sincerely, the Opportunist.”- Unknown

Is the glass half empty or half full? The pess...

Is the glass half empty or half full? The pessimist would pick half empty, while the optimist would choose half full. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Whoever said that was a very wise person. If you think about it, arguing over whether a glass is half-empty or half-full is rather pointless. It’s a freaking glass of water just DRINK THE DARN THING!!! I know that I am being over dramatic, but the point is not whether the glass is half-empty or half-full, it’s what we do with it that matters. Every situation and opportunity can be looked at either positively or negatively, and most situations and opportunities are either positive or negative.

There are times when we spend so much time sitting around thinking, worrying, and arguing over a given situation or opportunity that by the time we finally make up our minds, the situation or opportunity has passed us by. We spend so much time trying to figure out if the glass is half empty or half full that we forget that it’s water and that in the long run it doesn’t matter.

There have been times in my life where I was in a situation where I  wanted something to happen or an opportunity came up, were I spent so much time trying to figure out if it was half-empty or half-full that before I knew it it had passed me by. I regret missing those opportunities but there is nothing I can do about them except learn from them and not repeat past mistakes.

So my challenge to you is this. Which do you do more of? Are you sitting on your hands trying to figure out if the glass is half-empty or half-full? Or are you seizing that opportunity and drinking that glass of water?

-Roland K

2 thoughts on “Dear Optimist, Pessimist, and Realist

  1. Great post, Roland, and advice I need to follow too: get off the dime and do something!

Care to Share Your Thoughts?

