I Lived Fully

Living Life to the Full

Broken…

Leave a comment

I wrote this a couple of months ago after a Tenth Avenue North concert that I attended. I don’t even know if it qualifies as a really poem. Any way I wrote this right when I got home after the concert and I haven’t touched it since, so if their are errors take them with a grain of salt.

Broken

I stand broken.

My hopes and dreams are shattered.

My plans and desires lie in ruins.

The houses I would build have been turned to ash.

The future that I longed for is now scattered on the wind.

My failures stand against me weighing me down.

The pain and anger that I have held onto has me in chains.

And yet as I stand broken.

Bound in chains of pain and anger with my load of failures and in the midst of my shattered hopes and ruined plans.

I realize that the chains didn’t hold me I held onto them and that I have been freed from the burden of my failures and my chains were broken long ago.

It took the shattering of my dreams to realize that I am free and no longer bound by the pain, the anger and my failures.

My hopes and dreams are shattered.

My plans and desires lie in ruins.

The future that I longed for is now scattered on the wind.

And yet I no longer stand broken a miserable husk bound by chains of pain and anger.

I have been freed by a savior who long ago paid the price from my failures.

I stand in the hope that he who paid the price for me holds me in his hands.

My hopes and dreams are shattered.

My plans and desires lie in ruins.

The houses I would build have been turned to ash.

The future that I longed for is now scattered on the wind.

My failures no longer stand against me weighing me down.

The pain and anger that I have held onto no longer has me in chains.

I may be broken but I stand free.

-Roland K

Care to Share Your Thoughts?

