I Lived Fully

Living Life to the Full

Thinking before speaking…

Leave a comment

The Thinking Man sculpture at Musée Rodin in Paris

The Thinking Man sculpture at Musée Rodin in Paris (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

We have all done it, we opened our months and said something before we thought about it or the consequences. Most of the time I try and think before I speak, but if I’m tried or it’s late at night my mouth tends to say things that latter in the evening or by morning I regret. Now I am not trying to come up with excuses or justify me not thinking before speaking. Thinking before speaking is something that I need to work on.

For example last night I was at my churches college group weekly get together. We were hanging out with a group from another church, now the whole evening was awesome! But, towards the end of the evening as things were winding down I made a comment/joke to a friend in reference to some one from the other group. It was a private joke that I had made before a couple weeks ago in reference to the same person. Now it wasn’t derogatory per say… But, when I said it the person was a couple feet away and I wasn’t really thinking, and the person I made the comment in reference to I don’t really know and vice versa, and the only connection we have is my friend who I said the comment to. I didn’t think of it the time but it probably wasn’t the smartest thing to say with the person I was referencing standing a couple feet away and I found out this morning from my friend that my comment ticked them off. No, freaking duh!!! The next time I see the person I made the comment about I am going apologizing to them.

When we speak without thinking, there will be consequences whether we realize it or not. But the reverse can also be true, if we spend to much time thinking and take to long to speak that can be just as damaging as speaking without thinking.

So, the moral of my story and my challenge to myself and to you dear reader, is to think about how often you think before you speak, and to think about the consequences of not thinking before speaking.

“Think twice before you speak, because your words and influence will plant the seed of either success or failure in the mind of another.”- Napoleon Hill

-Roland K

Care to Share Your Thoughts?

