I Lived Fully

Living Life to the Full

The Masks We Wear

2 Comments

Who are you really? Are you the person that your friends see when you are hanging out with them? Are you the person that your family sees when you are around them? Or are you, your true self when no when else is a round or you think no is looking and you let your guard down? We all have masks that we wear when we are around people and some times they’re necessary. For example you don’t want to act crazy at a serious business meeting. But that’s more of a behavioral thing than an actual mask.

English: Various Balinese Topeng (dance masks)...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Recently I’ve been realizing that the way people act is not always their true self. For example, I’ve got a friend she acts wild and crazy, and part of it is her personality. But, I think that part of the reason she acts the way she does is because that is how we her friends expect her to act when she is around us. Then there are times when I will see just a glimpse of a slightly less crazy person and I think to myself “If that’s the really you? Then the real you is way cooler, at least in my book, than the way you act most of the time.” But it’s not just my friend that I see doing this. I know I wear masks, and I see people who I don’t know very well wearing masks. It makes me wonder what would happen if we stopped wearing masks and showed each other our true self’s?

Granted, wearing a mask provides some anonymity and protection. But in our attempts to fit in with those around us, we can lose our true self’s. One of the reasons that I think we wear masks is because we know that without them we are vulnerable and exposed to those around us. Without a mask people can see us for who we really are, our strengths and weaknesses. So we put on a mask because we are afraid that if we don’t we won’t be accepted, so we wear a mask to try to fit in. So here’s an idea, instead of trying to fit in and be like those around us, shouldn’t we be celebrating our uniqueness?

My challenge to you this week is to think about who you really are, the masks that you wear, and why you wear them?

“No man, for any considerable period, can wear one face to himself and another to the multitude, without finally getting bewildered as to which may be the true.” ― Nathaniel Hawthorne

-Roland K

2 thoughts on “The Masks We Wear

  1. Really good post and I love the final question…makes you think!

Care to Share Your Thoughts?

